We all know the saying “New Year New Me” whenever January 1st rolls around, but how many of us really stick to that? I’ll be the first one to hold my hand high to say I like my donuts and ice cream. I’m also not the only one who says I’ll stick to a diet and exercise plan and then quit. I have tried many ways to try to look like someone I’m never going to look like. I’m human. I compare myself to basically every hot girl I meet. I look in the mirror and sometimes wish I looked different. I have body image issues. But do you girls want my secrets to sticking to whatever plan you have for this year?

1) Love yourself.
You were made perfectly to be who you are. You are unique and there is only one of you in this entire world! This is something special; something only you can mold and make into whoever YOU want to be—not who someone in that magazine is or who your friend is….YOU. You have to really know who you are, care for what you have, and accept the beauty of it in your own way. It’s time to put yourself first and really love what you were born with. Everyone has flaws that someone else envies but once you love your own flaws, then you can say “I’m going to do whatever it is I want to do because I am strong, I am beautiful, and I want to do it for me.” Once you want to do something for you there is no stopping you!

2) Change your mindset.
If you look in the mirror and see something you want to change, there is nothing wrong with that. You can change whatever it is you want to if you put your mind to it. The key is to look at it from a loving perspective. If you want to tone up or look better in a dress, set a small obtainable goal. Look at yourself and tell yourself you want to do this for the love of your own body. You want to care for your body to make it strong and healthy. Then, the next time you put on that dress, you will feel like the strong and confident woman that you are.

3) Don’t stop.
It will be hard, it will be long, and at times, it will be frustrating. Nothing worth having in this world is easy. Just remember that no matter how little you do, how bad your workout was, how much you want to quit…the smallest amount of effort you put forth makes you ahead of everyone else on the couch. Keep up the good work, love your body, & have that donut and ice cream (in moderation of course) because you are who you are because YOU want to be it. Find things that work for you. You are all beautiful women in this world and you should shine like the beacon of light you are.

lizzie-signature

Lizzie is a recent graduate of Murray State University with a degree in advertising. She has big city dreams with a small town life. Lizzie is super spunky and is obsessed with anything coffee. She loves her dog Bee and can be seen obsessing over her on Snapchat and Instagram. Right now Lizzie works with Tribe 21 to help lift up young women and to inspire them to pursue what sets their soul on fire. If you’re comfortable with your dreams that just means they aren’t big enough! 

Leave a comment