Being Shy and Connected

Being shy isn’t something to be ashamed of depending on the situation or circumstances, anyone could be shy.

Like put me in a room with a bunch of women sharing faith. I may not be loud, but believe me, when I say I still chime in and pay attention.

And the older you get, the harder it seems to stay connected with old friends or even make new ones.

Why? Because our seasons of life don’t always match up with our friends seasons and then it’s the cycle of putting yourself out there to meet new people.

And if you’re shy, it’s not as easy as it sounds.

1. Talk to people in your Major

This was the hardest for me, because I was afraid of rejection when I was in college. I’m currently taking a course this summer, but I’ve come to love who I am.

Chit chat with people around you, especially as your classes get more focused.

When I was in grad school, I felt old (because I waited a few years in between) but in grad school we were a really close knit group wanting all of us to succeed.

2. Join a Workout Class

If you enjoy working out or want to get fit, a great way to meet new friends is to join a class.

Sometimes there are even free events at your local parks for sunrise or sunset workout classes.

Get out there, tone it, have fun, and meet some people.

3. Participate in a Club for Your Hobby or Blog

Finding a group or club for your past time is easy if you just know where to look. But you have to be willing to do your research to find them.

Maybe you enjoy reading or sewing, check out your local library for local activities you can join in on.

Maybe you don’t have time or have a local library, check out differ groups on Facebook. There is a group for anything. Love to write, find a group broad or for your niche. Love to make art? Find a group for your wants and needs.

I have met many of my friends on Facebook through the use of different networking groups.

4. Attend a Bible Study

This is so great and encouraging, and it brings you together with women of the same values. You get to meet women of different backgrounds and walks of life. Share stories and testimonies.

You never know who you are going to connect with in just the most amazing way.

I have to say that this has helped me open up and come out of my shell so much. I’m part of 2 women’s studies right now and talking with another group of fabulous ladies for another.

5. Join a Volunteer Section at School or Your Favorite Charity

Volunteering feels great on its own. It’ll brighten your day just doing it.

Pick something you are passionate about. Love animals? Volunteer at an animal shelter. Want to be teacher? Volunteer your time tutoring kids.

There are so many organizations out there that you can be a part of. Pick your passion and find a great spot to volunteer. And who knows, you may even find something you want your future career in while doing so.

Conclusion

There are so many ways you can get out there and connect with others with the same passion as you.

So what are you waiting for? Start finding your perfect fit and connect with some new people!


Camille is one of the content writers and Mental Health & Lifestyle Editor for Tribe Twenty One. She is a freelance writer and has her Bachelor’s in Marketing and Master’s in Organizational Communications from Southeastern Louisiana University. When Camille isn’t writing or editing, you can find her reading, riding her bike, and playing video game

One thought on “Being Shy and Connected

  1. The easiest thing for me was definitely talking to girls I was in class with! I don’t consider myself super shy but I am pretty introverted when it comes down to it. I had a much harder time making friends in college than I anticipated but I was always comfortable talking about a class or an assignment with the person sitting beside me!

    Kayla | kaylablogs.com

    Like

Leave a comment